Some Quick and Dirty Facts about Me

Name: I have to leave something about myself mysterious, don't I? If you are really curious, consult the 2001 Penn commencement program. For now you can just call me Katie (or Kate or Katherine) V. Alex.
Ethnic background, from highest to smallest percentage: Greek, Lithuanian, German, English. I am the Indo-European mongrel.
Birth Order: First-born. About first-borns: "Characteristic Bad Feeling: Guilt. Felt Loss: Love. The Child Within: Abandoned. Blind spot: Own Thoughts, Feelings, Desires. As Friend: Compromising, Serving." Read more.
Birthday: October 14, 1979
Sign: Libra. I am soooooo textbook Libra. "Librans are sensitive to the needs of others and have the gift, sometimes to an almost psychic extent, of understanding the emotional needs of their companions and meeting them with their own innate optimism - they are the kind of people of whom it is said, "They always make you feel better for having been with them."" Read more.
Chinese Zodiac: Goat. "Daydreaming all afternoon sounds heavenly to the Goat. This creative, esoteric Sign needs plenty of time alone in which to feed its Muse. Goats are generally most comfortable in their own minds (which other, more linear-thinking Signs may have trouble deciphering)." Read more.
Kiersey Temperament: Counselor Idealist (INFJ). "This type has great depth of personality; they are themselves complicated, and can understand and deal with complex issues and people. The small number of this type (little more than 2 percent) is regrettable, since Counselors have an unusually strong desire to contribute to the welfare of others and genuinely enjoy helping their companions."Read more.
Height: OK, I self-reported it as 5'8" on my license and passport, but my dad says he is 5'9" and I am taller than him. Someone wanna volunteer to measure me? :P
Eyes: Brown (insert awesome Van Morrison song here).
Hair: Long and curly. Color varies depending on season and exposure to sunlight, but it is generally a dark reddish-brown color. I am proud to say that I am among the teeny, tiny percentage of women with virgin (undyed) hair.
Foot type: Greek/Morton's Read more.
Celebrity lookalike: Someone once said I reminded him of Botticelli's Venus. Is his opinion warranted or totally off-base? You be the judge!
Degree: Bachelor of Arts cum laude and with Distinction in English from the College of Arts and Sciences (no, not the College of Arts and Crafts, you Whartonite fools) at the University of Pennsylvania.
Majors: English, with a concentration in Medieval and Renaissance Literature, and Classical Studies.
Languages studied: French, Spanish, Old English, Middle English, Middle Scots, Ancient Greek, Latin, Japanese.
Languages from the previous list understood to the point of fluency: none. Yay, (modern) English!!!!
Instruments I play: Drums (or "percussion," for the purists and/or overly sensitive types) and trumpet.
Music I Like: I like pretty much everything except country. And polka sometimes gets on my nerves. My favorite bands/artists are U2, Dave Matthews Band, Soundgarden, The Offspring, Nelly Furtado, Ani DiFranco (ahh, the music of the angry, abused woman. . . gotta love it), the Gin Blossoms, Radiohead, Bush and Oasis.
Food I Like: I am a big chicken and fish person. Lamb rocks too. My favorite veggies are spinach and broccoli, and my fave fruits are tomatoes and bananas. As for cuisines I go crazy for anything Mediterranean, Indian, Persian, or the aberration that is American Chinese. And everything chocolate.
Drinks I Like: Non-alcoholically, I imbibe tomato juice, orange juice, buttermilk, Mountain Dew and root beer. I hate milk. Alcoholically, I favor Bloody Marys (my signature drink), Cape Codders, red wines, Champagne, and Guinness.
Movies I Like: I am a big horror movie (Texas Chainsaw, Misery, Cujo, Halloween, Friday the 13th, etc.) fan. But I also liked Gladiator (even though it was wrong) and Snow Falling on Cedars. Oh, and Buffalo 66 was just phenomenal. Everybody should see that.
TV I Like: I don't really like TV.
Books I Like: Too many to list, so it's easier to try to exclude things. I'll just tell you that I pretty much universally hate 18th century British lit, and I am not a big fan of American lit.
Locales I Like: New England might just be the happiest place on earth. Of course, I'm biased, and I haven't been much of anywhere, but I do love Northeastern Massachusetts and the Maine coast. When I grow up (heehee) I want to live somewhere where there's ocean and snow, so I will most likely be in MA or ME.